The Long Awaited

I’ve gotten a lot of requests for a video showing the process of how we actually create the log planter.  Now the log planter was kind of a spin on two things, that I had found and learned about.

The first of which was a pin that I had found on Pintrest at the beginning of the planting season.  It was a log planter for succulents, and this was the first season that I really made an attempt at succulents and part of the reason for that was, that I had begun getting the gardening blues really early this year around the end of January beginning of February so I had begun looking into house plants and really trying my luck with those.  In all of my looking online I came across this pin for planters for outdoor perineal succulents and I really liked it and I wanted to try it, or at least something like it.

log planter pin
Log planter found on Pintrest ((Hyperlink Below to link to original source as this particular version was not mine))

Log Planter! Pin

Now the other thing that came to mind when I began thinking about this project and how my husband and I were going to get this done, lead me back to the property that our homestead is actually on.  Our property abuts Watson Hill, and for those of you who aren’t quite sure where that is, or what significance that has.  DON’T WORRY, It’s a Plymouth thing I promise, we are drilled on this stuff from the time we enter Kindergarten.

So Watson’s Hill is located just across from Town Brooke and it is the location of the signing of the first Peace Treaty between the Native American Wampanoag Tribe and the Pilgrims in the spring of 1621 exact timing ranges between March 22 and April 1.

Now I had mentioned, here in Plymouth we are trained on all of these things from the time that we enter Kindergarten until about the 8th grade and with that includes a FRIENDLY FIELD TRIP to Plymouth Plantation EVERY YEAR.  It gets redundant but the time you are in the fifth grade but you do learn a lot and one of the things that I always remembered watch was them burning and digging out logs to make canoes.

canoe
Canoe in the process of being burnt out at Plymouth Plantation

I loved the way that the wood looked both on the inside and the outside after it had been burnt, I like the idea of it having more raw looking edges than opposed to us just using a saw to cut out the inside, and so we sat for hours because this takes a very long time to do.

img_6190

So without further ado! Here we go!
Before I get into all of the details I want to go over some disclaimer information.

By continuing to watch how we do this, possibly or actually attempting to do this project on your own you are accepting any and all risk associated with this project.  If you have not tried a project like this yourself before in the past, I do not advise you to do this.  Always be sure to wear any and all safety gear that you feel is necessary when completing a project like this, including but not limited to work gloves, and saftey goggles.  Should you attempt this project, any injury or loss is the sole responsibility of the person who attempted the project and not the responsibility of Half Acre Homestead Stand and Shop, Homestead Transformation Blog, or any and all people associated with either.

Alright so  first things first unfortunately I was not able to post the time lapsed video of us starting this process, here to our blog, but I was able to post it to our Facebook account and it will also be going up on our soon to be Youtube Channel, so stayed tuned for more information regarding that as well.

The first thing that you want to do is select your log, now you can do this like we did through natural selection or if you have a tree that is in need of coming down you can use a piece of that as well.

We had a tree that had come down, I believe two years ago now.  Our log has had time to age naturally because of that, it has a little bit of rot to it, this does make it easier to chip away at and to break apart.  After you have selected you log, if it isn’t already to the size  you want you’re going to have to cut it down in side, now keep in mind that this will make it have very flat ends from the saw, so if you are looking for something that is much more natural looking, you will want to keep looking until you find that ideal log that is the correct size and shape you are looking for.  For me my ideal,  has about a half foot diametere, and is about two to three foot in length. For the video that we will be showing you pieces of throughout the next week you will see it is actually a bit thicker than I would prefere it to be, but again I don’t want to waste the natural resource of a tree by cutting down one that is living, this has been sitting for quite some time, so it’s time for it to be repurposed and given a new job.

Now that you have selected your log, you will want to either use your saw or a hatchet to decide where you want the channel for your plants to be.  We use a hatchet it does take a little bit more time, but it gives it a much more uneven rustic look which I like.  You’re going to want to chop away at that channel some, you’re going to want to open it up, I got lucky with this second log, it has a knot in it that we are using to our advantage.  After you have opened up your channel some you are are going to want to use some type of acceleratent, we filled the knot and also filled out channel, leaving the chunks so they can help the fire.  Once you have filled your channel with the accelerant you are going to carefully ignite it.  You will leave this be and allow it time to burn

img_6197
After you’ve filled the log with accelerant and ignited it you will then wait and watch it and allow it to burn out.

You’re going to now wait, and watch, and let it burn.  Once it has burned out you’re going to go back in with your hatchet and you’re going to chop out more of your channel, and you’re going to do this process all over again.

Now this can take a great deal of time to even just get down 3 – 4 inches.  But when it is complete and approximately 3-4 inches deep you will be able to rinse it out a litte with a hose, you can fill it with some dirt and begin planting in it.  I planted many things in mine, including Hens and Chicks, some evergreen,  delphinium, dafadils, and I even planted some blue grass but unfortunately with the drought it did not take.

img_6186
Completed log planter

I adorned it with some rocks that I found at the local Christmas Tree Shop which have my family member astrological signs.  I love how you can see that it was burned.  I also put a 7 on the side because we are house number 7. https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FHalfAcreStandandShop%2Fvideos%2F1769738383249931%2F&show_text=0&width=560

As Always
PEACE LOVE SALVATION
XOXOX
Tara

Leave a Reply

