Fake it til you Bake it – Part 1

Hello Again Everyone!

Now that we’ve discussed where I have been at the end of this season it is time to discuss one of my favorite things to do in the fall! And introduce a new segment that we will be doing once a week that I like to call… FAKE IT TIL YOU BAKE IT!

For this segment of my blog this fall I will be taking on recipes from popular celebrity chefs and cooks!

Tonight I took on someone who I absolutely LOVE! If there is one female cook that I love the most it would most likely have to be Paula Deen! I started borrowing recipes from Paula back in high school, which would probably explain why at 20 I had high blood pressure, but thank goodness that is now under control.  Paula’s recipes make me think of home, when I discuss Paula I immediately can hear that voice in my head, and let me tell you every time I post a video on here about cooking, my love for Paula sure makes it hard not to say Y’all about 500 times.

Tonight I tackled Mom’s Apple Pie! If you are interested in playing along with us over the next few months I will be sharing links to all the recipes right here.  Lets get started!

Mom’s Apple Pie VIA Paula Deen

moms-apple-pie_1

Okay so my first fake it in this recipe is that I almost never actually make my own crust, I haven’t really found a different between store bought crusts either, so typically I will just pick up whatever is on sale.   I am using Pillsbury today!

dsc01985

My next fake it on this recipe is that I am using 7 apples because I have a 7 inch pie pan not an 8 or a 9, mine is also a deep dish! Even using one less apple my pie was still completely chock full! Also I really like to buy local if I can when it comes to produce, so I am using Honey Crisp and Macs from C.N. Smith of Bridgewater! I went there recently and it is always a good time there right now they have their pumpkin patch open, they have the farm animals, hay rides, and of course pick your own Apples!

For the apple pie filling I cut the nutmeg down to 1/2 teaspoon because, well frankly I hate the smell of nutmeg.  I also swapped out a 1/4 of a cup of the sugar for a 1/4 of a cup of brown sugar.

dsc01984

I didn’t like the description of how to put the butter on, 2 tablespoons of butter on top makes me feel like it’s not going to incorporate well, so I opted to cut my 2 tablespoons of butter into 5 equal pieces and apply it that way, and even though I did not cinnamon and sugar my top I still egg washed latticed pieces! I covered my edges with tin foil to ensure that they wouldn’t burn and removed it with around 10 minutes left.

dsc01987

Paula says that prep is about 30 minutes, I would have to agree with that I found that it took about 30 minutes to put everything together, I also found that using the store bought crust made this recipe fairly simple! I checked my pie with around 20 left to check on it and everything looked like it was cooking good the top wasn’t super crunchy yet so I left the tin foil around the edges a little longer.  I checked it again around 1o minutes of bake time left, removed the tinfoil from the edges which I should have butter washed better, or removed sooner because it ripped my crust all apart.

dsc01988

What do you think about this recipe? I think overall that it works well, and I think that it easy to fake! I know that I will be egg washing all of my pies from now on because I have never had a top come out looking this great!

 

 

Leave a Reply

